passwords have all been force reset. please recover password to reset ×
MFGamers

The Sinking City

shinymcshine

Don't think this ever migrated into the Games thread, but I started playing it today.

It's pretty clunky, but already has a few interesting ideas in terms of making you work things out whilst investigating/researching and linking events together when using the psychic flashbacks. The Lovecraft vibe is quite obvious, and combat best avoided at times rather than head on.

Promising few hours, so I'll be seeing this through.

18 hours ago, DANGERMAN said:

start a new thread then innit

Sure, but I thought the idea was that the discussion about a game from the News thread go transferred over to the Games thread once it was release/played, to prevent multiple threads for each game.

Anyway, more slow progress, I keep getting distracted by side missions that end up being a bit to tricky (too many monsters) and I should probably stick to the main story for a while. So I've progressed that now, and ready for a diving mission.

This is a perfect slow burn game, a walking sim (meets a boating sim)  mashed up with Silent Hill/Alone in the Dark/Deadly Premonition, but remaining rooted in Lovecraftian horror. 

Investigations mean piecing the evidence together, and actually searching out clues via the different research desks. It's a nice methodical thinker, but if your after a (slightly) faster paced Lovecraft journey then you'll find it instead in the Call of Cthulhu game.

I don't know if the devs were being ironic , but the main quest has turned from careful investigation and avoiding unnecessary combat, to forced combat with numerous enemies, which given the poor combat mechanics, it seems more than coincidental that the quest is called "Nosedive"......

It always seems disappointing that most Lovecraft games (video & boardgames) often commence with good intentions, but then end up with throwing dynamite at Elder Gods.....