passwords have all been force reset. please recover password to reset ×
MFGamers

Horrible Game Mechanics

Sly Reflex

Inspired by a conversation I had with DifferentClass yesterday we were talking about games that had mechanics in them that were totally awful and really affected the way you played the game

I can think of two games that were spoilt. The first one is Boktai. I got this because it sounded like a great idea, the idea that you fought vampires by collecting light through a sensor on the cart which charged your heros gun. It was only until after I started playing that I found out that the gun was charged with UV light, as in you had to go outside and play under the sun...

I don't know if you ever tried to play a GBA outside, but it was almost impossible. If it was sunny you couldn't see the screen and if it was cloudy you could see what you were doing, but were not collecting enough UV to be viable. It has to be one of the worst ideas in a game that I can remember. I want to know who in the world actually managed to get through that game. I bet they all owned sunbeds or something. To top it off, if you had a GBA SP you were double fucked because the cart faced downwards and had no chance of claiming UV. That's not really a fault of Boktai, but talk about kicking a man when he's down. The prerequisites for playing the game were broken by not being able to play the game in those prerequisites. It was a lose/lose situation.

The second game is MGS3 and the way it made you deal with injuries. I seriously would love to know how that was greenlit to make it into the final game. I know you could avoid being shot at, but the camera was so shit that you'd often end up getting spotted and shot, then you'd have to do the whole field surgery of digging the bullet out and sewing the holes in Snake up. Tedious doesn't even begin to cover it.