passwords have all been force reset. please recover password to reset ×
MFGamers

Windows 8

Cyberpunk

Just thought you'd like to know that the next iteration of Microsoft Windows, currently named 'Windows 8' has just gone public with it's beta build. This is a free version of Microsoft Windows 8. Although it goes without saying that while Microsoft beta builds are usually pretty stable, I wouldn't use this as your primary operating system.

windows_8_screenshot.jpg

This build is close to what you will see in the shops when it gets released for resale. It is a fully licensed full operating system, and will support most of your existing software with only minor updates needed usually. It is free to use until Windows 8 hits the shops. I've been running the alpha build for a few months, and I have to say it's not bad at all.

When you use the Consumer Preview Setup program, there will be an option after the download completes to Install to another partition. Selecting this option allows you to create installation media that is customized for your machine based on your current architecture and language, and also gives you a unique product key that you will need to enter when you start Advanced Setup later. This is the safest option, as it preserves your existing Windows installation. You can try Windows 8 without losing anything on your pc. Generally speaking, if your computer can run Windows Vista or Windows 7, it'll be able to run Windows 8 Consumer Preview.

Windows 8 Consumer Preview download

Or you can download the Windows 8 disc image to burn to DVD from here.

Windows 8 Consumer Preview Iso

You don't have to use the display pictured above. By clicking on the 'Desktop' button, it becomes normal Windows, with all that entails.

I'll have to spend more time with it. We're still trying to figure out how to upgrade from XP at work. Slow and steady..